The Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario was created on July 1, 1998 by the amalgamation of two predecessor organizations:

  • the Federation of Women Teachers’ Associations of Ontario (FWTAO), and
  • the Ontario Public School Teachers’ Federation (OPSTF).


Each year at the Provincial Annual Meeting the membership sets the organization’s priorities for the upcoming school year.


  1. To protect the collective bargaining rights of all members.
  2. To defend publicly-funded public education.
  3. To serve the needs of the membership.
  4. To provide for the professional development of members.
  5. To promote social justice in the areas of peace, anti-poverty, non-violence, and equity.
  6. To support international assistance and co-operation.
  7. To promote the care and protection of the environment.
  8. To actively engage members in the Federation.
  9. To promote and protect the health and safety of members, both physically and psychologically.

Click here to find out more about ‘How the Union Works’.